Subject Guides & Selected Bibliographies

These subject guides and selected bibliographies have been prepared by Special Collections librarians to suggest primary sources in the University of Delaware Library which are available to support a variety of research topics. A number of these selective bibliographies were prepared at the request of faculty for specifically focused classes.

In addition to the guides listed below, researchers may want to consider the variety of subjects presented in the Library's online exhibitions. Many of the detailed finding aids to manuscripts, visual materials, and other collections are available on this Website, and access to bibliographic descriptions of printed collections is available through the Library's online catalog, DELCAT.

Subject list


  1. African American Sources
  2. America to 1860
  3. American History
  4. American Literature to 1865
  5. American Literature: 1861 - 1945
  6. Architecture
  7. Art History
  8. Artists Books
  9. Biology 467: Epidemics and Plagues
  10. Bookplates
  11. British Renaissance
  12. Commonplace Books
  13. Etiquette
  14. Historic Cooking Resources
  15. History Post-1880
  16. History 411: Do-It-Yourself America
  17. History 411/611: Writing History through Material Culture
  18. Interior design, 1850-1900
  19. Irish Literature
  20. Irish Literature: Twentieth-century Drama
  21. Letterpress and Bookbinding
  22. Literary Research Methods 2006
  23. Literature and Letters: Public and Private Productions
  24. Maps
  25. Maritime Journals and Ships' Logs
  26. Medieval Literature and Its Influences
  27. Medieval-Renaissance Colloquium: Early Modern Movement and Motion
  28. Medieval-Renaissance Colloquium: Economies
  29. Medieval-Renaissance Colloquium: Space
  30. New Castle County, Delaware
  31. Newark, Delaware
  32. Oral Histories
  33. Politics and Government, Domestic and Foreign
  34. Postcards
  35. Printing and the Bookarts
  36. Reading in America, 1800-2000
  37. Science Fiction
  38. Science Fiction, Fantasy, Mysteries, and Pulp Fiction
  39. Shakespeare Through the Ages
  40. Southern Literature
  41. Visual Communications Process II
  42. Women's Literary Papers and Manuscripts

University of Delaware Library 181 South College Avenue Newark, DE 19717-5267 USA +1 (302) 831-2229
This page is maintained by Special Collections.
Last modified: 09/03/08